Drive protection question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drive protection question

I have been using Rollback Rx Pro for several years and find it indispensable which is why I wanted to buy a license for my new laptop however, reading some of the posts here made me a little concerned over its reliability today so I decided to test the v10.7 demo last week.

First of all I should point out that the machine has 3 drives being 2x SSD (1 TB each) in a RAID mirror configuration and 1x SATA (1 TB) for data. My C:\ and D:\ partitions are on the first SSD with my most important data on the D:\ partition. When installing Rollback I was asked to select which partitions I wanted to protect so I selected C & D. Installation went ok but on testing recovery Rollback had ignored both C and D and protected E instead. E:\ as you can imagine is the SATA drive. So my first question is will Rollback not protect SSD's, and if it will, why did it protect the one drive it wasn't even installed on?

Thinking that maybe I had made some error during installation I went about uninstalling it but, like another user here, found that it stopped searching for data at 42%. Unlike him though, I ended up pressing the power button to shut down the PC and try again. That resulted in a total corruption of Windows with a BSOD at every start up so I am now in the process of reinstalling Windows. Is v10.7 safe for use or should I wait until the next release?

From what you describe above, I would not consider it safe to use.. it should have worked just fine. I would work with SUPPORT on your issue... they need to know the failure mode and fix it quickly.

Comment

I could be wrong but i dont think that RB was designed to work with Mirrored drives. I have successfully used RB on Stripped drives in past systems but never tried Mirrored.

Comment

Hello 7leagueboot,