No announcement yet.

Unable to Boot OS / Selective Restore?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unable to Boot OS / Selective Restore?

I've been using RollBack Rx for a couple of years now. One feature I've always liked and used frequently was the ability from within the program GUI to browse a snapshot and do a selective restore of specific files.

Yesterday my PC crashed due to a Windows update. Apparently there's a known problem with Windows 10 when installing an update where it may screw with your HDD and flip it to RAW and that is what happened to me, rendering the PC unable to boot.

Before I realized this is what happened, I just new the PC wouldn't boot correctly, I had restored to a old snapshot (about 6 months ago) via the RollBack Rx pre-OS GUI (hitting Home key after power on). Since the issue was related to the disk partition having been flipped to RAW, this didn't fix the non-boot issue. Taking the disk out and connecting it to another machine as an external drive allowed me to run chkdsk and convert it back to NTFS restoring access to all the data. Except it is 6 month old data since I had restored it to my 6 month old snapshot. Now the problem that the Windows update error creates is the OS is never again bootable once it happens without a wipe and clean install. So, I put the disk back in my PC, and as expected it was still unable to boot. Not a big deal as I expected this. Boot it back into the RollBack Rx pre-OS gui and it still shows all my snapshots, the 6 month old one, my initial install one, and one from 2 days ago. I restore it to the one from two days ago, pull the disk back out, connect it again to a 2nd machine, run chkdsk again, regain access to the disk again, hoping to find now all my data there from 2 days ago that had been restored from the RollBack Rx snapshot. Unfortunately it still only has the 6 month old data.

Hopefully that all makes sense...